Tags

, , , ,

Since hearing news of the tragedy in Newtown, CT Friday morning I’ve been a hot mess to say the least.

I’m not a parent, but my “little bears,” are my nieces & nephew by meaning and they mean the WORLD to me. And I just can’t stop thinking what if that happened in Chamberlain?

I believe in gun rights as much as many people do. However, I don’t think there is ANY need for the general public to have access to assault rifles. Ever.

However, gun control isn’t the only issue at hand. Mental health availability also needs to be addressed. And the stigma of mental health issues needs to be addressed.

People shouldn’t feel ashamed to reach out for help. Ever.

I’ll admit, I’ve gone through depression, mine may not have been as severe as some, but I went through it. And I even struggled to tell my parents that I was depressed at the time; and I have some of the most caring, open-minded parents that are out there. That tells us that something is wrong with society.

Society needs to wake up and realize that something needs to change. And before we lose anymore children.

“Let us find the strength to carry on and make our country worthy of their memory.” -President Obama at Newtown vigil on 12/16/2012

My thoughts and prayers go out to everyone affected by the Newtown tragedy. I pray that society can wake up and realize that we need to change for the sake of those innocent angels that lost their lives last week.

