Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Anyone that knows me, knows that I like my music. I’m the girl who friends call when they can’t think of the name of a country song or when they want some fun summer songs for a playlist. Music is my way of expression, from the lyrics tattooed on my side to my spotify/ipod playlists, music is my voice and my rock all at once. When I can’t think of what to write, I blog about music, because I can always find a song to fit my mood, the situation, or to make me smile.  I live for music.  

And at that, that I like my music loud,  kickin’, and country.

Well this new EP coming out tomorrow from one of my favorite bands, Florida Georgia Line, provides all of that. It’z Just What We Do will be my summer soundtrack, there is no doubt in my mind about that.

Florida Georgia Line might be somewhat new to the national country scene, but they aren’t new at all. Brian Kelley & Tyler Hubbard have been putting on killer shows and writing songs as Florida Georgia Line since 2009. And not only do they write all of their own music and put on great shows (from what I’ve heard), they are great about engaging with their fans on social media.  There is nothing I find more admirable in a favorite musician then their ability to have open and casual communication with their fans. Brian & Tyler have a way of making you feel like they really could be your friends if given the opportunity.

I can’t wait to hear them live when Country Throwdown tour comes to Sioux Falls on June 22nd. And am looking forward to enjoying a beer or two with them after their set!

Their songs are all ones that you just want to turn up and jam out to the minute you hear them. The lyrics will stick in your head and you will want to just put this EP on repeat for hours.

Thankfully Brian & Tyler were nice enough to let everyone preview the album via Youtube videos to keep us content until the EP comes out tomorrow.

It’z Just What We Do http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/itz-just-what-we-do-ep/id524284791

1. Cruise

This is the type of song that literally makes you want to do as the lyrics say—“You make me wanna roll my windows down and cruise…”.  I bet you can’t listen to this song and not want to just sing along.

2. Get Your Shine On

“Slide that little sugar shaker over here and get your shine on.” This is one of those songs that just instantly goes on your jam list. Let’s put it this way, my mother, who doesn’t listen to country music other than King George, shared this video from my wall without any prompting from me, because she loved it upon hearing it!

3. Tip It Back

Tip It Back, is just as one would assume the ultimate party/drinking song.  “And don’t worry about anything, ‘cept what’s in your glass. Whether it’s a cold beer, tequila, or a double shot of Jack, Yeah all you need to do tonight is tip it back.”

4. Tell Me How You Like It

Brian & Tyler really killed it with these lyrics. Add Tyler’s amazing and unique vocals and you will fall in love with this song in seconds. “Do you like it by the bonfire heat? If it gets too hot we can take it to the creek. Let’s make it last all night long. Just tell me how. Tell me how you like it.”

5. It’z Just What We Do

The final and title track of the EP is where Brian & Tyler show us that they aren’t just country boys.  They take it to the styles that we’ve seen before from Colt Ford and all the other country guys that like to throw some rapping in the mix. And they perfect that style with lines like: “Now it’s late night, Underneath the moonlight Everybody’s feeling right, And sipping on the bud light, Go’on drop your tailgate.” and “Hey we might look a little crazy tonight, Hey baby, that’s alright, It’s our Backwoods Boondock Roots, It’z just what we do” and “Six string pickin’, Solo cup sippin’, And when the moments right, grab your phone and get dem digits..”

With those five songs Florida Georgia Line has one of the best EPs a fan could ask for.  Most albums have a song or two you might skip over sometimes, but It’z Just What We Do brings you 5 songs that you will struggle to pick a favorite from because they are all just that damn good! So make sure you check out when they are coming to a town near you!

Check Florida Georgia Line out at http://floridageorgialine.com

Follow them on Twitter at http://twitter.com/flagaline

Like them on Facebook at http://facebook.com/floridageorgialine

Check out their YouTube channel where they do a weekly Inside the Line behind the scenes look at their previous week on the road at http://www.youtube.com/user/floridageorgialine

Buy the album on Itunes here: http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/itz-just-what-we-do-ep/id524284791

