Tags

, , ,

I am always cynical about this holiday, not because I’m bitter. But because the commercialization/materialization of love is quite disgusting.

I’m not going to say I’ve never hoped to be surprised by flowers or a present from some secret admirer or a boyfriend even after I said I didn’t want to celebrate the holiday. But what this day has become and what people expect of it takes away from what love really is in my opinion.

To me love is the little things. Every single day. It is being there for each other for the ups and downs.

It is telling the other how you feel 365 days a year.

It is not running when things get tough.  And it is supporting someone and wanting their happiness at all costs.

While I might be single, I have so many friends and family that I love & appreciate more than they may ever know.

So since this holiday does exist, I will take the time to appreciate the people who love me for who I am; which has allowed me to love myself and them in return.

Thanks for being a part of my life whether through social media or real life. If you are reading this, you have probably impacted me at some point. And all impacts, and all people that have been in my life at any point have provided lessons, which have gotten me to where I am today.

And the biggest thing I’ve learned in the past 25 years, 11 months, and 3 weeks is that one has to truly accept and love themselves in order to find that one true love that we all dream of. So always remember, you are amazing. Just as you are. Be you. And love you. The rest will come when you and the other can truly appreciate and take the most out of it.

So join me in taking the time to use this commercialized holiday to appreciate the people in your life now, the ones in the past, and the ones who will come in the future.

 

 

